Gulf County Golf Cart FAQs

If you plan to drive a golf cart on the road in Gulf County, then you'll need to follow the proper rules and requirements. Below are the most frequently asked questions regarding the operation of golf carts in the Gulf County.


There are additional legal requirements for driving golf carts in Mexico Beach. Visit our Mexico Beach Golf Cart Rules page to learn more about said requirements.

What is the legal definition of a "golf cart"?

A motor vehicle designed and manufactured for operation on a golf course for sporting or recreational purposes that is not capable of exceeding speeds of 20 miles per hour.

Am I allowed to operate a golf cart on a public road?

Yes, as long as the roads have been designated for golf cart use. Gulf County Ordinance 2009-05 allows golf carts to operate on all county roads with a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less.

Can I operate a golf cart on state roadways within Gulf County, such as Hwy 98, Hwy 71 or SR 30E?

No, a golf cart can only operate on a state maintained highway in areas specifically designated by the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) for use by golf carts.

What if I only want to cross a state maintained roadway that is not designated for golf cart use?

You may not cross. You may only cross at areas specifically designated for golf carts to cross. Designated areas for golf cart use will be conspicuously marked with signage.

Am I allowed to operate a golf cart on the sidewalk?

No, Florida law prohibits driving “any vehicle other than by human power” upon a sidewalk or sidewalk area. This includes golf carts.

Am I allowed to operate a golf cart at night?

You are only able to operate a golf cart between sunrise and sunset unless your golf cart is equipped with headlights, brake lights, turn signals and a windshield.

Do I need a driver’s license to operate a golf cart?

No, Florida Statute does not require a driver’s license to operate a golf cart on public roads and prohibits anyone under the age of 14 to operate a golf cart. Gulf County’s ordinances coincide with Florida Statute with the exception to beach driving. You must be 16 years of age and possess a valid driver’s license to drive a golf cart on Gulf County’s beaches designated for driving. The City of Port St. Joe also requires you to be 16 years of age and possess of valid driver’s license to operate a golf cart within the city limits.

Can I be issued a traffic citation for improperly operating a golf cart?

Yes, the golf cart operator can be issued a citation with an associated fine and points on your license.

Where can I find additional information about golf cart use and the law?

You can view all of the Florida State Statutes at:


Listed below are the statutes that apply to golf cart use:

  • 316.003 (68) Definitions.
  • 320.01 (22) (42) Definitions.
  • 316.2125 Operation of a golf cart within a retirement community.
  • 320.02 Registration required.
  • 316.2122 (3) (4) Operation of low speed vehicles on certain roadways.
  • 316.212 Operation of golf carts on certain roadways.
  • 316.212 (9) Noncriminal traffic infraction moving violation.
  • 316.1995 Driving upon sidewalks or bicycle path.


For more information about Gulf County’s Golf Cart Ordinance visit our website at If you have further questions you may contact the Gulf County Sheriff’s Office at (850) 227-1115.